Sir Henry was my great Grandfather…

This post is from an email from Colette McNamara (nee O Sullivan) (or Raggy 3). Thanks for sharing Colette – hope this triggers some memories…

Sir Henry was my great Grandfather and the bakery was situated at the venue we all loved and frequented back in the day. My first intro to Sir Henry’s was The Hall of fame! The corridor leading from the bar down the back and around to where The Restaurant was. I went to thousands of gigs there. Hot Guitars ( residency ) on a Monday night. Moving Hearts, Auto De Fe, Hothouse Flowers to only mention a few, tip of the iceberg to so many bands and gigs. I remember Jimmy McCarthy and countless festivals, folk, rock, country music and jazz. The bouncers Joe and Ted that we had to get past en route! Jimmy O Hara ( manager) Marilyn best barmaid ever Jo, Dave and many more bartenders. Then the Lark After Dark a follow on concert after the free U2 concert in The Lee Fields. I could go on and on ! Then was the sweat nights and whistle blowing to House music. I had my joint 21st Birthday Party there. Over 600 invited…. Ian Richards DJ and 3 bands played (1983) Anyway I hope this helps !

Leave a Reply

